meredithelaine
you can take the girl out of jersey, but you can't take the jersey out of the girl

yes, i'm a white girl from the burbs of new jersey, and i'm going to bitch about hip-hop. you gotta problem with that? (that's not all i talk about in this entry, though)


2006-04-23 The current mood of meredithelaine at www.imood.com

i'll have another photopost soon, because i went to TIJUANA on friday night. eric's band had a gig down there, so we all went. not that there are pictures of anything distinctly tijuanan -- they're basically of the band (of course), me and eric and the new friends that i've made. so yes, photographic proof that i HAVE made friends. they're not fake or figments of my imagination.

i'm starting to get nightmares again, really fucked up confusing dreams. i'm waking myself up from talking in my sleep. i'm not rested when i start my day. yesterday morning, i woke up suddenly, sat up straight in bed and started crying. the dream wasn't even that BAD. odd, yes. but not scary or gruesome or even harkening back to the days of yore with evil exes. it was just odd. and i'm sick of it. i think that's why i was crying. because i just want peaceful sleep. the times that i came out here on vacation, to scope out the scene, visit eric and make my decisions about moving here, i slept so well. even with the background traffic as my soundtrack. i don't like that my insomniatic tendencies are sneaking back up on me.

i was up until 4am last night. granted, i was waiting for eric to call so i could pick him up from work. and then we went out for a little while with a friend of his from work. but we got back and i headed to my room and i just couldn't sleep - despite my exhaustion. i wrote some spastic verses in my myspace blog. my mind and heart and emotions were all over the place, plus i was nausous from eating the WORST denny's meal i had ever consumed in my life. and having gone to college in scranton, pa, trust me, i've eaten a LOT of denny's. heh.

question for the masses: can it really be considered "sucker free sunday" on mtv2 when most of the hip-hop songs (not just the videos, but just the straight up SONGS) suck all sorts of ass?

really. these days, hip-hop is pissing me off. i seem to go in cycles when i'm either listening to more rock, or more hip-hop. right now, it seems to be more rock. except for old-school. i've been d0wnl0@ding a lot of old-school hip-hop and r&b these days. early 90s stuff (salt n' pepa from that era, jody watley, karyn white, and i never EVER got rid of my shai CD).

but at least, right now, mtv2 is showing "evolution LL" -- a retrospective of LL Cool J videos. they just showed "jingling baby," "doin' it," and "goin' back to cali" -- i hope they show his unplugged "mama said knock you out" performance -- that was classic stuff.

does anyone else think his new song "control myself" with j. lo sounds like a low-rent rip-off of the black eyed peas' "my humps"? which of course, is a craptastic song in itself. does the world really NEED a WORSE version of an already BAD song?

oh god, no. it's on now. oh god. seriously. LL's flow is the pace as "white lines" by grandmaster flash, part of it is paced like "goin' back to cali", then he's all "z-z-z-z" like that old school song "double dutch bus" (if i'm not mistaken, i could be wrong on the song, but i know that's from a song from back in the day) and then j. lo comes in with her breathy talking/singing/whatever.

now, don't get me wrong, i know that hip-hop uses a lot of interpolations of older songs, sampling and re-interpretations of classics. but the WHOLE SONG is one big copping of other songs. there's barely an ounce of originality in this song. and that makes me so sad because LL is a LEGEND. agh. it hurts.

and don't get me started on bubba sparxxx's "ms. new booty" -- i used to like bubba, back when he wasn't really that popular. songs like "ugly" and "lovely" -- those were great. he was original back then. he was georgia and country and embodied someone who would be named "bubba".

but now? that song is just ridiculous. BOOTYBOOTYBOOTYBOOTYBOOTYBOOTY--
SHUT THE FUCK UP!

seriously. i've been hearing more wit and bite from emo/pop-punk bands. wake me up when rap gets interesting again.

ah. i feel much better now that i vented about that.


posted by: less-than3

spoke the truth!

[if you like what you read, please clix me!]

1:59 p.m.
prev :: next


meredithelaine's recently played tracks:

meredithelaine's most played tracks of the past week:

  • Check out our Frappr!