meredithelaine
you can take the girl out of jersey, but you can't take the jersey out of the girl

unaccessorized


2006-05-17 The current mood of meredithelaine at www.imood.com

i received my usual weekly package of mail from mom and dad back east. newspaper clippings and notes, junk mail and other miscellaneous pieces from places i haven't changed my address with yet.

but i also received another package - a small box.

this box was from relatives that i may have met once or twice, but i honestly do not remember them. they sent me a ring and a note. my aunt ginny, who died shortly before christmas, apparently wanted me to have it. it belonged to my great aunt helen before her.

the note says: "hope you enjoy wearing this ring and remembering two fine ladies."

i cannot remember the last time i spoke to aunt ginny. she always sent me a birthday card and a christmas card, and i always responded with a thank you card, with a letter updating her on my life. that's just how it was. but aunt helen, i've heard about her, but i honestly don't know if she was alive at any point since i've been born, or if she died before...i have no clue.

how do i remember relatives i didn't know? i feel guilty having this keepsake.

i tried on the ring. of course, it doesn't fit. i had a hunch that it wasn't going to -- after all, i kinda learned long ago through another situation that, i'm just not a ring-wearin' sorta girl.

so it's sitting in it's brown velvety box on my desk. i guess i'll put it in a drawer somewhere for safekeeping.


posted by: less-than3

spoke the truth!

[if you like what you read, please clix me!]

5:26 p.m.
prev :: next


meredithelaine's recently played tracks:

meredithelaine's most played tracks of the past week:

  • Check out our Frappr!