meredithelaine
you can take the girl out of jersey, but you can't take the jersey out of the girl

at least i managed to get my laundry done, too


2006-10-03 The current mood of meredithelaine at www.imood.com

happy october. and there's not a sign of it here in san diego, although it is a little cooler. a little cooler being in the low to mid 60s. it's lovely, though. just not my typical october.

i'm very discouraged right now. the work situation is not clearing up, in that apparently the credit union i'm temping for is bringing in a recruiter from an agency to do the recruiting until they hire a full-time HR Administrator/Recruiter to replace my supervisor, who is going to become an Assistant Branch Manager. yeah, i'm riding the bitter train on this one, folks. i've been doing more and more interviews, taking on more responsibility, doing more projects. but instead of giving me a shot, maybe coaching and mentoring me a little more, now when my supervisor moves on to the branch, i'm going to have to answer to some random-ass recruiter? ugh. i can only hope that maybe i can make a good impression on HER and maybe SHE'LL hire me for her staffing agency or something.

and i love how i find all this out through eavesdropping on phone calls that my supervisor is on in his cube across from me. now, i know that i'm "just the temp," but i've been here for 4 months now, and i've had a pretty heavy hand in the recruiting during that time. seems to me that MAYBE i should be kept in the loop a little bit better.

interviews i've been on (both in-person and phone screens) as of late are proving fruitless. rent is due, and it looks like i'm going to have to put my parking spot fee and my internet fee on my credit card, because i have another credit card bill due this week, and i don't have enough money in my account to cover it all. just when i think i might be able to get my head above the surface, i get pushed back under. i'd really like to purchase some new fall clothes, but i have to wait until a) i have some money and b) i lose the 20 pounds i've gained in the past 4 months.

hm. i've been temping for 4 months, and i've gained an obscene amount of weight in the past 4 months...coincidence? i think not.

i'm a big ball of stress. i'm tired. i'm still paying $300/month for my medical benefits through COBRA, which is a HUGE chunk of my problem. i still haven't bought eric his iPod or taken him out to the nice dinner i promised him for his birthday (which was in mid-august). most of that is just because of the busy life thing going on. but still...

right now, i'm just failing at this juggling/balancing act. i'm exhausted. the weird dreams are coming back, along with the tendency to wake up every few hours or so. i'm eating like shit, because it's cheaper to do so, it seems. yogurt goes on sale - 10 for $10. pop-tarts are only a dollar from our vending machine, and that's a lot cheaper than a berry smoothie or a veggie sub or whatever.

i'm bitching about "grown-up" stuff. i'm truly afraid now. someone hold me.

posted by: less-than3

spoke the truth!

[if you like what you read, please clix me!]

7:32 p.m.
prev :: next


meredithelaine's recently played tracks:

meredithelaine's most played tracks of the past week:

  • Check out our Frappr!