meredithelaine
you can take the girl out of jersey, but you can't take the jersey out of the girl

i only hope that i won't disappoint you


2005-01-31 The current mood of meredithelaine at www.imood.com

there was really no reason for me to be nervous at all.

except maybe being afraid that i was going to fall down the stairs in
my 3.5-inch heels.

i ran around like a madwoman on saturday morning/afternoon. went to
the mall - twice.

i can't wear the dress! it's too much! i look fat! i need new shoes? why can't a get a decent pair of low-heeled shoes without stupid fucking bows on them? i'm going to faint. it's hot in this mall. my back hurts. i need lipstick. fuck! i need pantyhose!

i bought a $12 shirt (from macy's) and a $60 skirt (from the limited) as alternate gear.

but i stuck with the dress. especially when dave showed up and told me how gorgeous i looked. more than once, even.

NOTE: the pictures do NOT do me justice! i think i look crappy in the picture. i looked WAY better in person. besides, there wasn't time for a full-on photo shoot, since we were running a bit behind schedule. heh.



me and my gorgeous hair!





me in the dress!





another shot of me. supercute, huh?


due to us getting a late start on the road, and the snow that started just about when we were in delaware, it took us about 3 hours to get there. it was a "why did i bother to even do my hair?" kind of evening. sleet and snow.

so we had an hour and a half to eat, drink, and mingle. i met one of dave's close friends (who's so supernice, and reminds me of an old high school friend of mine, except that dave's friend isn't gay), and a bunch of other friends/acquaintences of his. all of whom were really nice. as far as the attire went, some people were dressed up, some weren't. so there was really no need for me to panic about it. (i don't want to hear the "I TOLD YOU SO"s from the peanut gallery -- you guys know who you are...)

at first i did feel kind of self-conscious, and had that oh god, people are staring at me kind of feeling. but dave assured me that i was looking hott, so i slowly began to relax.

honestly, it was not painful or awkward at all. which is odd for me, since i'm the queen of feeling awkward.

we ended up staying at an embassy suites hotel just outside of baltimore. it was really gorgeous. the suites had living rooms and mini-kitchens. it was pretty nifty. back in 1998, i worked at a similar hotel chain (summerfield suites), but our rooms went for anywhere from $119-$259+ per night! this place was only $99! it's strange how hotel rooms can vary so much in price, depending on region and time of the year/week.

sorry, the reservations manager in me slipped out there for a second.

so the hotel was lovely. the bed was comfy. heh. that's all i'll say about that. honestly, though, i haven't had that good a night's sleep in ages. i slept all the way through from 2am to 8am!

in the morning, we headed down to breakfast. in the middle of the hotel dining area/atrium, there was a little pond with koi fish. i was just entranced by them. they're gorgeous. my ex-boyfriend's housemate had a tattoo of a koi on his arm, and i always just thought it was so pretty.

the weather pretty much sucked in the morning, but we still headed out to meet up with dave's dad and stepmother for lunch. of course, we got lost and drove up and down route 29 a few times - which is always fun in the sleet and snow. but we eventually DID make it there.

i get very nervous when "meeting the parents", so to speak. i SHOULDN'T because all of parents i've ever encountered (of friends, etc.) have loved me. (and WHY SHOULDN'T THEY!??!! i'm damn lovable.) there's only been one "mom" who didn't like me. she was a cold-ass bitch.

she didn't hug me back. i don't like that.

ANYWAY, this time around, i have to say, went very well. honestly, once we were there and eating and talking, i was not nervous or uncomfortable at ALL. thank god, because the last thing i need is more stress in my life.

i felt good afterwards. like i did okay. those sorts of things are always nervewracking.

i think my mom is jealous, because she hasn't met dave yet. my dad, on the other hand, is in denial that i am above the age of 12.

after lunch, we got back on the road and made the long trek back to hatfield. we both pretty much collapsed. i ended up flipping through one of my old photo albums while dave was on the phone, which turned into a massive viewing session of ALL of my photo albums.

it's pretty funny, because there are a series of blank pages, where i've taken out any pictures of, or related to, any of my exes. i don't want to remember any of those eras of my life, for various reasons.

however, the pictures of me making out with some guy at the bar remain intact. which embarrassed me slightly, but was definitely amusing to look at.

ah, memories of my days as a "BAR HO".

some things never change...i STILL get teased for that stuff. even by my boyfriend, who WASN'T EVEN THERE!

he's coming with me to my friend's wedding in a few weeks...he'll fit in just fine. who WOULDN'T bond over making fun of me?

just for good measure, here's a picture of me from this morning, just before i headed off to work:





posted by: less-than3

spoke the truth!

[if you like what you read, please clix me!]

7:51 p.m.
prev :: next


meredithelaine's recently played tracks:

meredithelaine's most played tracks of the past week:

  • Check out our Frappr!