meredithelaine
you can take the girl out of jersey, but you can't take the jersey out of the girl

i won't say these words that i've said before


2006-05-02 The current mood of meredithelaine at www.imood.com

for as much as i dive into the low, i swing back up high (higher and higher; sing it, jackie wilson).

monday monday (ba dah, ba dah dah dah) was a glorious day. an interview that went well - hopefully to come to fruition. working as an admin for an HR department. it would start out being through an agency, then possibly go permanent. oh wouldn't that be loverly? and at a rate close to what i was earning back in NJ.

i got my hair cut. i was seeking only a trim, but apparently, when you haven't gotten your hair cut in over 2 years, getting "just a trim" is not an option. my hair was so uneven and full of split ends. i would estimate that about 4 inches or so was cut off. luckily, my hair is still quite a bit past my shoulders. i intend to keep growing it. i just won't go quite as long in between trims. gobs and gobs of deep conditioner doesn't fix everything, i have learned.

later in the evening, it was off to extraordinary desserts with an extradorinary person (yes, i do realize it was corny to say that -- sue me). and my, my, MY were the desserts EXTRADORINARY. CAKE, i tell you. and i have leftovers of both pieces sitting in my fridge. then, the extraordinary boy came up with the extraordinarty idea to go to karaoke night. i haven't been to karaoke since i moved here. WHAT?!?! i hear you all gasp. so we headed on over, and eric and i wowed the crowd with our vocal stylings. i sang "son of a preacher man" and "since u been gone" -- the 2nd song wasn't quite up to par, in my honest opinion, because my voice started giving out, and i didn't have a beer in my hand at the time to quench my parched throat. nevertheless, it was a blast, until the karaoke DJ became so drunk that he couldn't read the list of songs that people had written down, started calling up people to sing songs they'd already sang, and cued up the wrong songs completely for other people.

oops.

i can't complain. i'm smiling more than i have in a very long time. when things fall into place for me, they fall into place beautifully. like a special kind of gift. luckygirl. i get giddy when i think about it. mapquesting directions to the nearest wal-mart while watching "what not to wear", text messages to say hello, SOBE Green Tea and 2 new shades of lipstick.

i'm just sighing in a happy space right now. breathing easy(ier) for once. it's the sun and the breeze. driving in my Hyundai Tucson, dodging cars with native license plates on the freeway. i know they're muttering "stupid jersey girl" under their breath. i laugh and continue to sing loudly in tune with the voices on my iPod.

more faces are starting to recognize me. more faces are happy to see me.

i'm content.

posted by: less-than3

spoke the truth!

[if you like what you read, please clix me!]

5:13 p.m.
prev :: next


meredithelaine's recently played tracks:

meredithelaine's most played tracks of the past week:

  • Check out our Frappr!