meredithelaine
you can take the girl out of jersey, but you can't take the jersey out of the girl

(low carb) candy's dandy, but liquor's quicker. and it numbs back pain, too.


2005-03-03 The current mood of meredithelaine at www.imood.com

by 1230pm, i had already taken the 1-2 pills i am allotted per day. i stood on line at quizno's, shaking and weakened in pain.

i am annoyed because, clearly, this MOBIC stuff is not doing the job. i took my first dose at 630am - by 9am it still hadn't kicked in. and then i took a 2nd dose 3.5 hours later? this is NOT a good sign.

i really should have become a doctor or pharmacist; i know my shit. i know what works and what doesn't. we could have avoided a lot of grief if some vicodin or percoset had been thrown in my general direction.

i am also scared because this is all a sign that my back is not getting any better, and most likely is getting worse.

i tried to call a radiology center to make an appointment for my MRI. they told me i can't make one without a written referral. so i call the doctor's office - they don't give referrals, only prescriptions for proceedures. WHAT?!? stop fucking up my head with terminology and just fax me a piece of paper with a signature ending in MD on it! why they didn't give me something while i was STILL IN THE OFFICE is a mystery to me

as per the radiology center's orders, i called my insurance company to see if this place was "in network". they told me that i need to get a doctor's precertification. apparently a signed prescription form does not count. my doctor has to CALL the insurance company and precertify an MRI.

radiology center says they need something written. insurance says they need a verbal. can we PLEASE get on the same page?

so basically, i have no idea when i'm going to be able to get this MRI. i leave my job in less than a month, so my insurance will run out. i'm still in pain, i still shake when i'm standing, and i got less than 3 hours of sleep last night.

when and if i ever get a verdict on all this, the vote will probably be for surgery. i've never had surgery before. on top of that - and this is just one example of how vain i am, folks - the incisions in my lower back will most likely fuck up my tattoo.

and this is ALL because i broke off my engagement 5 years ago.

you see, my ex-fiance had herniated discs. he had the surgery. i didn't visit him in the hospital - a) because i was working, and b) he wasn't there more than a day, if i remember correctly. however, i DID haul his ass to physical therapy 2-3 times per week, carted him wherever he needed to go, and basically became his errand-running slave.

i would like to mention that this is more than anyone ever did for ME during the worst of my herniated days.

i digress, as i often do.

so, because i broke off the engagement, i am convinced that he put a voodoo hex on me. he cursed me with back pain and a very long period of REALLY shitty, dysfunctional relationships.

my relationship luck seems to have turned for the better *knocks wood, crosses fingers and avoids walking under ladders and opening umbrellas indoors* -- but the back pain remains.

it's so a bacardi thursday, folks. fire up your AIM and MSN and say hello!

posted by: less-than3

spoke the truth!

[if you like what you read, please clix me!]

3:36 p.m.
prev :: next


meredithelaine's recently played tracks:

meredithelaine's most played tracks of the past week:

  • Check out our Frappr!