meredithelaine
you can take the girl out of jersey, but you can't take the jersey out of the girl

you're dropping out; my battery is low


2005-01-23 The current mood of meredithelaine at www.imood.com

shoveling is not fun when all you have is a broom.

but for 45 minutes today, that's what i did. attempted to dig my car out of a foot and a half of fluffy snow.

the last time i tried to clear snow of that magnitude off of my car - i ended up with a herniated disk and sciatica. if i wake up tomorrow and can't walk, well...i'll only have myself to blame.

i'm kicking and sweeping the snow. i'm stumbling and sinking into the snow, falling over and nearly spraining my ankle (again). i'm cursing the people with shovels. i'm cursing my neighbors, who HAD shovels, but didn't answer the door when i knocked (intending to ask to borrow a shovel).

the maintenance/groundsmen were out, clearing the walkways and some of the parking lot. chris is one of them. he has come to my apartment every time that i've had a maintenance "issue". so we're friendly like that.

"hey beautiful!"

some idle chit-chat ensues - the weather, the Eagles. a few more of the men have come over - there's about 6 of them at this point.

"we have a damsel in distress!"

one of them tells me that i can probably get my car out at this point. and that i should try backing up and pulling up a few times, packing the snow down.

i enter my car and slowly reverse. i stop, and 2 of the guys are shoveling my spot clear. they're NOT supposed to be doing this - if you do it for one, you'd have to do it for everyone, you know. but they do. i'm smiling and giggling as i pull back into my cleared-out parking space.

i got out of my car, gushing and thanking them profusely.

"couldn't NOT help a beautiful damsel in distress!"

i could get used to being called a damsel in distress - it sounds all chivelrous. beautiful? well, OF COURSE i was beautiful! with my layers of heavy clothes, watery eyes, icky-not-yet-washed hair under a knit snowcap, and a continually runny nose!

that just SCREAMS hottness! um. yeah. whatever.

here's what hatfield looked like yesterday, from my living room window. you can't really see the detail of snowflakes, but you'll get the idea.

















the only thing that would have made it better is if someone had come over to play. you know: snow forts, snowball fights, snow angels...all that fun stuff.

it's not fun trying to relive your life as a 10-year-old when you're all by yourself.



posted by: less-than3

spoke the truth!

[if you like what you read, please clix me!]

6:20 p.m.
prev :: next


meredithelaine's recently played tracks:

meredithelaine's most played tracks of the past week:

  • Check out our Frappr!