meredithelaine
you can take the girl out of jersey, but you can't take the jersey out of the girl

i am vindicated!


2005-03-22 The current mood of meredithelaine at www.imood.com

(thanks for all the well wishes. i'm squeeing from all the love)

this morning, i woke up, and the pain was in my back before i even got out of bed.

THIS can't be good...

long story short -- i walked one block to the bank and to marathon grill (their strawberry smoothies are to DIE for), and felt a pain so strong searing down my leg.

i know it seems like EVERY entry i write about this, i'm all "it was WORSE this time!"

/whiny

but this time i can assure you, was unbearable. i hobbled back into the office, and my coworkers saw my limp.

"are you okay?"
"you look pretty banged up."

up until this point, i've really tried to hide my pain and gimpyness. sure, i've TALKED about it a lot (me? talk about myself a lot? get the fuck outta here!), and walked a little awkwardly, but i've really tried to keep it to a minimum.

this time, there was no holding it back. i sat down in my chair gingerly and fought back tears.

GO SEE ANOTHER DOCTOR was the verdict from G and S.

i ended up opting for a "Urgent Care Center" -- the were able to take me at 515...TODAY! that's unheard of usually in the medical world. they told me the fee for a visit was $60 (they don't take my insurance). i said fuck it, made the appointment and left work early.

mapquest did not suck my will to live, for once in my life.

this was the ONLY urgent care center near me -- about 1/2 hour from my train station. it was in an older building that i'm sure, once held an office of some sort. it was right on a busy street - i actually drove past it at first, b/c their sign was so small!

i walked inside and, my first thought was "damn, this place is ghetto." only one doctor, and one receptionist. quite the tiny operation, and it looked REALLY shady. but i went for it anyway.

my doctor was a small man of indian (i'm guessing?) descent. he was so cute, older, but looked like he'd never seen a day of happiness in his life. he had a perma-frown.

i gave him the "reader's digest" version of my Sciatica Sob Story (from 2001 to present day).

he agreed that i DEFINITELY need to get an MRI and x-rays. told me i should keep bugging my doctor about getting that approval.

then he said those magic words i've been longing to hear:

"i'll give you some muscle relaxers, and medicine for the pain"

i could barely contain my glee, but i figured i really should avoid acting like a druggie THRILLED to be getting a fix.

the doctor retreated to the "restroom" - at least that's what the sign said. i heard some rummaging around, and he emerged with 3 bottles.

"now, don't take the pain killers during the day, or else you won't be able to do a damn thing."

i had to pay additional money for the drugs, but it wasn't that bad. my total for the visit and meds was $111. considering that i've been to Urgent Care Centers in the past that charged me WAY over that amount for the visit alone, i was more than happy to hand over my credit card.

you should see the bottles. they're your typical clearn orange bottles with the damn frustrating child-proof caps, but the labels on them are hysterical. clearly they were made with office-type labels on an ink-jet printer.

again, i was a little wary, but i saw the degrees and credentials on the walls. when i visited the website earlier in the afternoon, i read that he was certified by the American Association for Pain Management (or something like that). so what if his operation was of the ghetto-mom-and-pop variety? here was someone willing to not fuck around, and just HELP ME.

i have taken the medicine and am anxiously awaiting them to kick in.

i am so happy.

(i should be quite amusing later...)

you

posted by: less-than3

spoke the truth!

[if you like what you read, please clix me!]

6:55 p.m.
prev :: next


meredithelaine's recently played tracks:

meredithelaine's most played tracks of the past week:

  • Check out our Frappr!